The Sciatic Nerve

For the past week or so I’ve been getting little jolts of pain in my butt cheek and in the bend of my right leg. I kept telling Tim that it felt like a pinched nerve, but it wasn’t so bad, so I just sort of ignored it. Saturday we were driving to Roanoke and I started getting these little jolts of pain every 5 minutes or so. But the intensity kept increasing and the little jolts of pain turned into paralyzing jolts of pain (in my butt!) Every time it happened I yelled out and my whole body tensed up and I would get tears in my eyes. I knew I wasn’t going into labor because the pain was in my ASS and not my stomach. Was this normal?? Tim convinced me to call the doctor’s office and a nurse just giggled and informed me that..”OH yes. That is your sciatic nerve. The baby must be resting on it.” Resting on it? More like chewing on it, honey! I did feel better knowing that this was normal but there’s not much you can do for it except try to change your position to move the baby. I never really know when it’s going to happen, so if you hear me suddenly shout out curse words, no I do not have tourette syndrome, it’s just my baby…chewing on my sciatic nerve.

Leave a Reply

